The Adventures of A Kid Movie Lover: The Good Dinosaur

THIS DOESN’T HAVE ANY SPOILERS TO THE GOOD DINOSAUR! SPOILERS FOR THE LION KING!

Many would say my obsession with animated children movies is a problem. I’ve had a couple of ‘frenemies‘ say that it is only due to my lack of wanting to grow up. Cue eye rolling. However, I digress.

My love for Disney, Pixar, and Dreamworks movies are the only thing that keeps me sane. I promise! Come on, we all know how stressful ‘adulting’ can be. BILLS! BILLS! BILLS! On a night when I need to unwind, I can always count on my movies. I’ll pull out my old school VHS player and press rewind for some great singing and dancing.

My absolute favorite childhood film is The Lion King. It’s an amazing quality that I can quote it from beginning to end. I sing along to all the songs and pretend that I have great friends like Timon and Pumbaa. I cry whenever Simba is running after the gazelles to save his trampled father. I pretend that maybe, just maybe, the story will change were the greatest king that ever lived, Mufasa, will be able to return home with Simba. I just pray that they’ll stop Scar and run the Pridelands together.

Even more than that, I enjoy the rivoting story of a young cub growing into a king. He, after watching him grow up, finally finds the strength within to overcome his past. He has to come to grips with the past of accidentally causing the death of his father. He even has a moment with his father appearing in the stars and in the pond near him. It’s, in my opinion, the greatest scene in any movie ever made.

Overall, I love the inspiration that the story gives. I never felt I would find a movie even remotely close to that. Until last week, I went to see a movie with my daycare kids called, The Good Dinosaur.

The kids raved and ranted to me all week about the movie. They said and I quote  how it was the greatest movie ever and how emotional it made. I, considering their rants and raves about everything, took their comments lightly. Was I wrong? No one could blame me though. These are the same children that ranted and raved to me about Frozen. Don’t get me wrong, Frozen is awesome. However, it was not the greatest child animated film. According to them, it was.

Thursday, March 17th, was the day I realized there was another movie right underneath the greatest. Within five seconds of the movie, I knew that I was hooked. I couldn’t compare myself to such a magical experience. I will try not to include any spoilers. However, I will try in a couple of steps to explain to you why you should see “The Good Dinosaur”. If you are a Lion King fan, this is a requirement.

Scenery

THE GOOD DINOSAUR

THE GOOD DINOSAUR – Pictured: Arlo. ©2015 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved. (Stills Edited by Stitch Kingdom)

The film’s digital scenery is like none that I’ve seen before. It’s very detailed and pure. It’s so realistic that most could look at this photo and think it’s real. If you look closely you can see our protagonist, Arlo is on the top. Arlo is a lime green dinosaur that captures your heart from the start. The second thing that captures your heart is the beautiful place and scenery that the film showcases. I thought nothing could compare to the Pridelands until I say Arlo’s back door.

THE GOOD DINOSAUR

THE GOOD DINOSAUR – Pictured: Arlo. ©2015 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved. (Stills Edited by Stitch Kingdom)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friendships

As you get older, friendships dwindle or fade away. There are some that have the same few friends since they can remember. There are others like our good dinosaur, Arlo, that make friends that will leave a lasting impression on our life. Arlo meets a interesting sidekick that he once hates but later feels responsible for. Arlo and his friend (will not ruin name) go through the test of times together. They are a great example of what friendship means opposite Timon, Pumbaa, and Simba.

THE GOOD DINOSAUR

THE GOOD DINOSAUR – SEEING THE LIGHT — An Apatosaurus named Arlo makes an unlikely human friend in Disney•Pixar’s “The Good Dinosaur.” Directed by Peter Sohn, “The Good Dinosaur” opens in theaters nationwide Nov. 25, 2015. ©2015 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved. (Stills edited by Stitch Kingdom)

 

 

Underdog 

THE GOOD DINOSAUR

THE GOOD DINOSAUR – Pictured: Arlo. ©2015 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved. (Stills Edited by Stitch Kingdom)

Every movie has one. This isn’t a spoiler. Arlo, is similar to our wonder hero from The Lion King, Simba. Arlo has to fight through his past to overcome his deepest fears and be the good dinosaur fans know he can be. Arlo doesn’t disappoint.

 

Great Storyline

Story’s that captivate you no matter your age are the best. For me, I looked around the theater that Thursday afternoon and saw all ages crying, laughing and cheering. Adults taking their children, grandparents that their grandchildren, could all be seen smiling after leaving. I knew then that this movie had a strong effect and should be seen by everyone possible. The main reason that this movie really captures people is because of its relatable tone and voice of reason. It’s deep message could be used throughout one’s life. Similar to Lion King’s effect of embracing oneself, The Good Dinosaur allows viewers to desire that feeling. “The Good Dinosaur” the essence that adults and children near and far will doubt themselves sometimes. The true goal is to be loyal, honest, true and overall, good.

 

THE GOOD DINOSAUR

THE GOOD DINOSAUR – Pictured: Arlo. ©2015 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved. (Stills Edited by Stitch Kingdom)

http://media.photobucket.com/user/horseanne/media/windowslivewriterlionking-df21lion-.jpg.html?filters[term]=lion%20king%20sunset&filters[primary]=images&filters[secondary]=videos&sort=1&o=20

Still from the movie, The Lion King. Recieved from Photo Bucket.

Leave a comment