The Adventures of a Sick Person

This post is one that many readers can relate to. This post evaluates the issue of being sick. Many of us can feel tough and invincible until we are hurling over a toilet, coughing until we can’t breathe or running a horrible fever with chills. This week I was stopped right in my tracks with this issue and sense it consumed me I decided to evaluate the situation.

 Denial

This past week I experienced something that wasn’t in my planner. This issue scratched everything that was planned out and became a top priority. I kept feeling at the start of the week very sluggish, tired, and queasy. I knew that I had been overworking myself. However, it was when I was trying to do the news for my Wednesday night show and was in extreme pain that reality struck.

news sad face

My tryout session for NTTV news. It’s like I could see this moment in the future. (Credit: Sophia Constantine)

I realized that I was sick.

If you’re like me, you don’t have time to be sick. There’s so many things that need to be done. I always say to myself, “If I can just make it to the weekend. I will rest up and take care of myself.” Well, my body wasn’t relying on the weekend. After vomiting my soul in a toilet from Wednesday night into Thursday morning, I understood that my body had crashed. I texted my boss after my third bathroom visit and told her that I wouldn’t come into work. Plans had officially changed.

 

Self-Diagnosis:

This can either be a good thing or a bad thing. I knew in my heart that this was an average case of a stomach bug. I remembered a couple of people I knew had it some days ago. However, when you feel horrible and nearly want to die to relieve the pain, you’ll try anything.

I looked up online all of my symptoms and found out the possible illnesses. After sometime I realized, I could either have a case of an Appendicitis or a stomach bug. WebMD is great for the simple analysis but if you don’t want to scare yourself, don’t go on.

Sleep All Day and Night

After finally dry heaving into the toilet the last deposits of my stomach, I finally could rest in bed. I had been sleeping in the bathroom after being tired of running in every 20 minutes.

bed

My only destination when I’m sick…. my bed. (Credit: Ta’Niya Breedlove)

Once I climbed into my bed, I slept for what seemed like forever. It was understandable considering I felt like I had been hit by a wrecking ball the size of the sun. I remember waking up at one point and having my head leaning over the edge of the bed and one sock off. It felt amazing finally not vomiting. I had the after effects of an unsettled stomach that would linger throughout the day. After the 3rd nap, I was able to look at my television.

Random Marathons

There’s usually only one thing you can do when you are sick. That is to watch television. It’s interesting what’s really on television in the daytime. I usually don’t get a chance with work and school. That wasn’t the case today. First, I watched a couple of daytime talk shows. It’s amazing how many of them they have. I learned how to properly fold a fitted sheet and underwear. Then, I had the channel on a Law and Order marathon. It was delightful because in between naps I would wake up for either the end of an episode or the beginning. I became a really good detective and had a 70 percent chance of picking the right killer. Lastly, I watched one of my favorite childhood channels, Nickelodeon. It was interesting because for four hours they had SpongeBob on. I was a bit aggravated considering all the possible shows they could’ve played. However, after SpongeBob they played two of my favorite shows, iCarly and Victorious. They are two shows that made me laugh in my time of need. Considering when I’m sick how emotional I can get, the shows were a ray of sunshine.

The Keepers

I am very grateful that I live at home for many reasons but one in particular is when I’m sick. My family caters to my every little need. Some would call me a baby. Well, my Mom does call me that. I cry out at moments when I need something to quench my thirst or ease my hunger. I cry out when I need an extra blanket to warm me up. Even minutes later I’ll call them to cool down the house with the air conditioning. They never fuss but only when I try to do it myself. The real reason they complain is because they don’t want me to spread any germs around the house. It’s funny even when they come into my room they make a big deal about disinfecting. They try to come in fast and are covered up similar to a ninja.

Bathing/Shower:

Usually the one thing I am responsible of controlling is cleaning my body. It takes all of my energy to shower or take a bath. I usually convince myself for an hour to get up and get it done. When I finally get up, my legs are shaky and wobbly.

my brother outside bathroom

My Brother outside the bathroom when I was showering. He played “Hello” by Adele. (Credit: DJ Breedlove)

I reach into my dresser to find my comfort pajamas, my warm, fuzzy cow onesie. I walk ten steps into my shower and turn on the warm water. I let the water fall onto my body and I wonder why I didn’t do this sooner. I take the longest shower. After what seems like a moment I dry off, put on my onesie and walk back to my bed. I take another nap after I realize it is only noon.

The Diet

8 pack of sierra mist

I nearly drunk the whole pack in one day. (Credit: Ta’Niya Breedlove)

This is what I call it. I’m not able to eat for a while considering my fear of not holding the food in my stomach. Eventually I can and my basic needs are met with the delicious crunch of Saltine Crackers and a chilling lemon-lime Sprite or Sierra Mist. Towards the end of the night I upgrade to a blue Gatorade. This diet is the only thing to look forward to. I was trying to work my way up to soup but the smell was horrific and I had to turn it away. The diet wasn’t horrible until I smelled my family enjoying their grilled steak, baked potato and salad for dinner. That’s when I realized that my body had really betrayed me.

Back to Reality

After finally being able to go to sleep at 2am, I realize that I am better than the night before. I look back at all my enjoyed moments throughout the past 24 hours. I realize that I never want to be sick again. I vowed to stay healthy. I vowed to always eat my vegetables and fruit, try to exercise and rest. Even though I know, sickness is not in my control.

sleep at 203

After napping all day, I could finally fall asleep all night. (Credit: Ta’Niya Breedlove)

Leave a comment